非医生急诊护理提供者的即时超声快速远程教育

中低收入国家(LMIC)缺乏获得高质量紧急护理的机会。 即时护理超声(POCUS)有可能显着改善LMIC中的急诊护理。 快速的远程教育是关键。

戏法 被纳入一个十人队列的培训计划 乌干达农村地区的非医生紧急护理提供者(ECP)。 我们对POCUS研究进行远程,快速回顾对ECP超声质量的主要目标和超声利用的次要目标的影响进行了前瞻性观察评估。 快速远程教育的研究在11个月中分为四个阶段:最初的面对面培训月,两个中个月的阶段,其中ECP无需远程电子反馈即可独立执行超声检查,最后几个月是ECP可以通过远程电子反馈独立进行超声波检查。

由美国的专业超声检查师按照先前公布的八点顺序量表对质量进行评估,本地人员对ECP进行了快速标准化的反馈。 超声检查结果对敏感性评估的敏感性和特异性 创伤超声检查(快速) 计算。

快速远程教育:简介

低收入和中等收入国家(LMICs)获得高质量的紧急护理的机会有限尽管世界卫生组织最近呼吁在2007采取行动。 此外,这些国家面临着全球疾病负担的绝大部分; 例如,儿童死亡率在中低收入国家中通常比高收入国家高出10至20倍。

许多因素导致缺乏获得医疗服务的机会,包括缺乏熟练的医疗服务提供者。 撒哈拉以南非洲地区仅占25%的医疗保健劳动力,面临全球疾病负担的3%。 为了解决这种短缺问题,许多国家采用了一种称为“任务转移”的战略,在这种战略中,现有的提供者干部以新颖的方式分配技能和责任,并形成新的干部。

在这些资源有限的环境中,缺乏熟练的医疗服务提供者通常会因缺乏技术资源(包括诊断成像技术)而变得更加严重。 便携式,手持式超声波价格便宜,易于部署并且在无法使用更高级诊断方式的环境中具有临床效果。 因此,以严格且可持续的方式对非医师临床医生干部进行现场即时超声检查(POCUS)的快速远程教育可能会极大地影响中低收入国家的医疗服务。

早期研究表明,可以对非医师进行培训,使其能够独立掌握急诊必不可少的技能。 LMIC中医师对POCUS的使用已对患者管理产生了公认的影响,例如选择手术治疗或更改医疗计划。

快速远程教育 –仅有有限的研究检验了在中低收入国家提供紧急护理的非医师临床医生学习POCUS作为标准护理的辅助功能的能力。 罗伯逊等。 Haiti和Levine等人描述了远程实时使用FaceTime来指导和监视非医生的POCUS。 演示了远程观看中的FaceTime图像不逊于在超声仪上捕获的图像。 迄今为止,还没有公开的数据描述远程审查在中低收入国家中的使用,以维持非医师的POCUS使用和技能。

传统上,提供者的超声教育范围从简短的一到两天的强化培训课程到一年的模块化课程。 其他团体发现,如果没有持续的支持,简短的培训课程不会产生持续的技能保留。 然而,在工作地点一对一的长时间直接观察培训在中低收入国家中可能是非常耗费资源的,特别是如果由前往中低收入国家专门提供教育的非本地专家提供监督。 在这里,我们描述了一种新颖的教育工具,为乌干达农村地区的一组非医师临床医生及其对广泛POCUS的继续教育和技能保留的影响提供快速,“远程审查”,质量保证和反馈。

自2009以来,非医师临床医生在乌干达农村地区医院接受了急诊护理培训,计划毕业生被称为急诊护理从业人员(ECP)。 医院环境和培训计划在其他地方进行了详细描述。由于有限的放射医学服务,POCUS被纳入课程。 我们对10人ECP队列中POCUS研究对超声利用和技能的远程快速审查的影响进行了前瞻性观察评估。

快速远程教育–方法

所有患者遭遇都被前瞻性地记录到电子研究数据库中。 收集的数据包括主要投诉,人口统计信息,订购或执行的测试(包括ECP POCUS),结果和处置。 ECP使用Sonosite Micromaxx(Bothell,WA)使用2-5 mHz曲线换能器,6-13 mHz线性换能器或1-5 mHz相控阵换能器获取超声图像。

关于快速远程教育,作为研究的一部分,ECP记录了有关超声检查,超声检查者和初步解释的信息,然后由工作人员上传到由一位作者设计的基于Web的单独数据库程序中(* *)用于远程质量保证。 由美国急诊医师在POCUS中进行研究金培训后,远程进行了图像检查。 详细的反馈通过电子邮件发送给本地研究人员,后者将反馈打印并分发给执行中的ECP。

我们的主要目标包括随着时间的推移教育评级的变化(口译和图像获取)。 我们的次要目标包括超声波利用。 排除了访问医生独立进行的超声检查。 这项工作得到了[deidentified]和[deidentified]的机构审查委员会的批准。

Rapid, Remote Education for Point-Of-Care Ultrasound among Non-Physician Emergency Care Providers

Access to high-quality emergency care in low- and middle-income countries (LMIC) is lacking. Point-of-care ultrasound (POCUS) has the potential to significantly improve emergency care in LMICs.

POCUS was incorporated into a training program for a ten-person cohort of non-physician Emergency Care Providers (ECPs) in rural Uganda. We performed a prospective observational evaluation on the impact of a remote, rapid review of POCUS studies on the primary objective of ECP ultrasound quality and secondary objective of ultrasound utilisation. The study was divided into four phases over 11 months: an initial in-person training month, two middle month blocks where ECPs performed ultrasounds independently without remote electronic feedback, and the final months when ECPs performed ultrasounds independently with remote electronic feedback. Quality was assessed on a previously published eight-point ordinal scale by a U.S.-based expert sonographer and rapid standardised feedback was given to ECPs by local staff. Sensitivity and specificity of ultrasound exam findings for the Focused Assessment with Sonography for Trauma (FAST) were calculated.

 

 

Introduction

Access to high-quality emergency care in low- and middle-income countries (LMICs) is limited, despite the most recent call to action in 2007 by the WHO. In addition, these countries face an overwhelming proportion of the global burden of disease; child mortality rates, for instance, are often 10 to 20 times higher in LMICs than in high-income countries.

Many factors contribute to this lack of access to care, including a lack of skilled providers. Sub-Saharan Africa faces 25% of the global burden of disease with only 3% of the healthcare workforce. To combat this shortage, many countries have utilised a strategy known as “task-shifting” in which skills and responsibilities are distributed in novel ways among existing provider cadres and new cadres are formed were needed.

The shortage of skilled providers in these resource-limited settings is often compounded by a paucity of technologic resources, including diagnostic imaging technology. Portable, hand-carried ultrasound is inexpensive, easily deployable and clinically effective in settings where more advanced diagnostic modalities are not available. Training a cadre of non-physician clinicians in point-of-care ultrasound (POCUS) in a rigorous and sustainable manner thus has the potential to significantly impact the delivery of care in LMICs.

Early research has shown that non-physician clinicians can be trained to function independently in skills essential to emergency care. The use of POCUS by physicians in LMICs already has proven impact on patient management, such as electing surgical treatment or changing the medical plan of care.

There is limited research examining the ability of non-physician clinicians providing emergency care in LMICs to learn POCUS as an adjunct to standard care. Robertson et al. described the remote, real-time use of FaceTime to instruct and monitor POCUS by non-physicians in Haiti and Levine et al. demonstrated that FaceTime images in tele-review are non-inferior to those captured on the ultrasound machine. To date, there is no published data describing the use of tele-review to sustain POCUS usage and skill by non-physicians in LMICs.

Traditionally, ultrasound education of providers ranges from brief one- to two-day intensive training sessions to one-year modular courses. Other groups have found that without continued support, brief training sessions do not yield sustained skills retention. However, prolonged direct-observation training one-to-one at the bedside can be prohibitively resource-intensive in LMICs, especially if oversight is provided by non-local experts traveling to LMICs specifically to provide education. Here we describe a novel educational tool to provide rapid, “tele-review”, quality assurance and feedback to a group of non-physician clinicians in rural Uganda and its impact on continuing education and skills retention for broad-based POCUS.

Since 2009, non-physician clinicians have been trained in emergency care at a district hospital in rural Uganda, with program graduates referred to as Emergency Care Practitioners (ECPs). The hospital setting and training program are described in detail elsewhere POCUS was incorporated into the curriculum given limited access to radiography services. We performed a prospective observational evaluation on the impact of a remote, rapid review of POCUS studies on ultrasound utilisation and skills in a ten-person cohort of ECPs.

Methods

All patient encounters were logged prospectively into an electronic research database. Data collected included chief complaint, demographic information, testing ordered or performed (including ECP POCUS), results and disposition. ECPs acquired ultrasound images with a Sonosite Micromaxx (Bothell, WA) using a 2–5 mHz curvilinear transducer, 6–13 mHz linear transducer, or a 1–5 mHz phased-array transducer.

As part of the research study, information on ultrasound performed, sonographer and initial interpretation were recorded by ECPs and then uploaded by staff into a separate web-based database program designed by one of the authors (**) for remote quality assurance. Image review was performed remotely by U.S.-based emergency physicians with fellowship training in POCUS. Detailed feedback was emailed to local research staff who printed and distributed the feedback to the performing ECPs.

Our primary objective consisted of changes in educational ratings over time (interpretation and image acquisition). Our secondary objective consisted of ultrasound utilisation. Ultrasounds performed independently by visiting physicians were excluded. This work was approved by the Institutional Review Boards of [deidentified] and [deidentified].